Doing the right thing!

When my kids were small, I was always trying to instill in them to do good all the time. Play at school with that person that doesn’t have a friend. Seek out new friends. Sneaking to get into the Halloween candy was akin to stealing and had harsh consequences (no video, no pool time, no trampoline time – some of their favorite things). I knew I was teaching them for a lifetime and needed to lay the foundation. Not doing your homework and lying that it was lost, again, not the right thing. Making another person look bad just to try to make yourself look good – again, not the right thing. It seems in this crazy world we live in, too many parents skipped those harsh consequences and now we have grown ups who have no clue of that concept. We can’t raise perfect children, but it is up to us to try.

I see people every day that are out for themselves. Millenials, GenX, Baby Boomers, it spans generations, no group is exclusive. Narcissism is a cancer that has invaded our society. There are awesome people out there doing what is best for the world, their family and their community, honestly and being forthright about everything. Then there are those that would, as my Mother said over and over, “they would climb a pole to tell a lie, rather than stand on the ground and tell the truth”. Trying to be something they are not, not a good thing!

I can’t stand liars. Lie to me once and I will never trust you again. I might not say that to your face but it is in my heart. I don’t like people trying to get over on others – claiming benefits they might not otherwise be entitled to collect, telling the customer what they want to hear just to sell something, being deceitful in any area of their life. If you lie once, what else will you lie about? The truth is hard sometimes. You don’t just tell people what they want to hear. It will backfire.

What will you do today to be the role model to others and the next generations? Will you sluff it off and figure it is the parents responsibility or will you stand up to be THAT adult that makes a difference. I just pray I don’t lose faith in humanity with what I see going on every day in this world! Be that ONE person that wants it to change with me.

If you want to see change in the world, start in your own little corner!

About The Dancing Goat

A Yuppie turned Farmer in the middle of suburban Tampa!! Green is the color, sustainable is the lifestyle. Reuse, recycle and re-purpose!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment